eCharcha.Com   Support eCharcha.Com. Click on sponsor ad to shop online!

Advertise Here

Go Back   eCharcha.Com > Culture > Cultural Exchange

Notices

Cultural Exchange Cultural topics - Indian and other

Old June 12th, 2002, 11:08 AM
Sutradhar {admin}

echarcha has a reputation beyond reputeecharcha has a reputation beyond reputeecharcha has a reputation beyond reputeecharcha has a reputation beyond reputeecharcha has a reputation beyond reputeecharcha has a reputation beyond reputeecharcha has a reputation beyond reputeecharcha has a reputation beyond reputeecharcha has a reputation beyond reputeecharcha has a reputation beyond reputeecharcha has a reputation beyond repute
Question Some questions about Buddhism?

We have had so many discussions about Dalits and reservations. But these threads are usually about reservations and so on and so forth.

What most Dalits profess is that theya re BUddhists. Now I had some questions about Buddhism itself as I am no expert at it.

This is not religious or faith bashing, so please take it in the right spirit.

Some qeustions -
  1. How does one 'become' a Buddhist?
  2. Apart from meditation, what other activities is a Buddhist involved in that differentiates them from non-Buddhists?
  3. Is it mandatory for a Buddhist to agree with all of Buddha's teachings?
  4. Are there any strict prohibitions that a Buddhist must adhere to?
Old June 12th, 2002, 11:26 AM
eCharchan

AdiDravida is on a distinguished road
How does one 'become' a Buddhist?

If a person follows Buddhas teaching( 5 Seelas), he become a Buddhist. You might ask why did Dr. Ambedkar have a converstion or Why Udit Raj(Ram Raj) have converstion cermony. Its just to show that Dalits are no longer Hindus, as many claim

Apart from meditation, what other activities is a Buddhist involved in that differentiates them from non-Buddhists?
Meditation is not activity but an Aid which helps to follow and practice pancha seela. Other activites buddhist follow are