eCharcha.Com   Support eCharcha.Com. Click on sponsor ad to shop online!

Advertise Here

Go Back   eCharcha.Com > Science and Technology > How to

Notices

How to Stuck for an answer to "How to do .."?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 10th, 2015, 11:54 AM
Aashika Aashika is online now
Senior eCharchan
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,562
Aashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond repute
Standard Chartered Bank: Question

I had been a customer of Standard Chartered Bank when i was working in India. I have some 4 lacks + in that account right now. I never really used that account in ages (at least 7 years) now. Now, I wanted to order a check book (Need to pay for something in India) so that I can write a check.
Regularly I get the statements generated to my email and every year, tax receipts arrive at my door step.

Since i havent been using the account itself, I had not kept track of my T-pin (telephone pin i think) or my bank card.

i called the customer services requesting them to send me a new checkbook. They wanted my old registered phone number as identification. Its been close 10 years ago that account was registered and I dont have that old number.

They are now saying they cant help me if I dont get the number. How do I get around this? Of course I don't want to lose 4 + lacks. They claim they have no other way to verify my identity. Seriously?

I asked how come they are sending emails/ mails regularly without knowing whom I am. But the customer service guy is adamantly maintaining he cant go through the call without me naming my old registered India number.

What should I do? I really need the check book. I told them I need to talk to the manager, who, of course is never available. How do I get around this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 10th, 2015, 12:08 PM
smellyfinger's Avatar
smellyfinger smellyfinger is offline
Senior eCharchan
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Home
Posts: 8,851
smellyfinger has a reputation beyond reputesmellyfinger has a reputation beyond reputesmellyfinger has a reputation beyond reputesmellyfinger has a reputation beyond reputesmellyfinger has a reputation beyond reputesmellyfinger has a reputation beyond reputesmellyfinger has a reputation beyond reputesmellyfinger has a reputation beyond reputesmellyfinger has a reputation beyond reputesmellyfinger has a reputation beyond reputesmellyfinger has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Standard Chartered Bank: Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aashika View Post
I had been a customer of Standard Chartered Bank when i was working in India. I have some 4 lacks + in that account right now. I never really used that account in ages (at least 7 years) now. Now, I wanted to order a check book (Need to pay for something in India) so that I can write a check.
Regularly I get the statements generated to my email and every year, tax receipts arrive at my door step.

Since i havent been using the account itself, I had not kept track of my T-pin (telephone pin i think) or my bank card.

i called the customer services requesting them to send me a new checkbook. They wanted my old registered phone number as identification. Its been close 10 years ago that account was registered and I dont have that old number.

They are now saying they cant help me if I dont get the number. How do I get around this? Of course I don't want to lose 4 + lacks. They claim they have no other way to verify my identity. Seriously?

I asked how come they are sending emails/ mails regularly without knowing whom I am. But the customer service guy is adamantly maintaining he cant go through the call without me naming my old registered India number.

What should I do? I really need the check book. I told them I need to talk to the manager, who, of course is never available. How do I get around this?
Go to a branch in person with your passport etc. YOu may get help. Address below for Stan Chart Canada.
__________________
Never argue with idiots. They drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.

Last edited by Aashika; March 11th, 2015 at 07:03 AM. Reason: Removed city identification details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 10th, 2015, 12:19 PM
Aashika Aashika is online now
Senior eCharchan
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,562
Aashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Standard Chartered Bank: Question

[quote=smellyfinger;662523]Go to a branch in person with your passport etc. YOu may get help. Address below for Stan Chart Canada.




Anyway, thats not a retail branch melly; they dont provide any banking services I believe. they are just a subsidiary. I had called them last night. They told me my best bet is to contact someone from india itself. Calling someone from india seems to be like a dead end.

I have written in detail about the problem to the customer services hoping someone checks and calls back. Thank you for the suggestion though.

Last edited by Aashika; March 11th, 2015 at 07:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 10th, 2015, 12:35 PM
smellyfinger's Avatar
smellyfinger smellyfinger is offline
Senior eCharchan
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Home
Posts: 8,851
smellyfinger has a reputation beyond reputesmellyfinger has a reputation beyond reputesmellyfinger has a reputation beyond reputesmellyfinger has a reputation beyond reputesmellyfinger has a reputation beyond reputesmellyfinger has a reputation beyond reputesmellyfinger has a reputation beyond reputesmellyfinger has a reputation beyond reputesmellyfinger has a reputation beyond reputesmellyfinger has a reputation beyond reputesmellyfinger has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Standard Chartered Bank: Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aashika View Post
Who told you I live close by?

Anyway, thats not a retail branch melly; they dont provide any banking services I believe. they are just a subsidiary. I had called them last night. They told me my best bet is to contact someone from india itself. Calling someone from india seems to be like a dead end.

I have written in detail about the problem to the customer services hoping someone checks and calls back. Thank you for the suggestion though.

Ok, you already tried that. Book a flight to India then good excuse.
__________________
Never argue with idiots. They drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 10th, 2015, 01:01 PM
sarv_shaktimaan's Avatar
sarv_shaktimaan sarv_shaktimaan is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: satva aasmaan
Posts: 14,043
sarv_shaktimaan has a reputation beyond reputesarv_shaktimaan has a reputation beyond reputesarv_shaktimaan has a reputation beyond reputesarv_shaktimaan has a reputation beyond reputesarv_shaktimaan has a reputation beyond reputesarv_shaktimaan has a reputation beyond reputesarv_shaktimaan has a reputation beyond reputesarv_shaktimaan has a reputation beyond reputesarv_shaktimaan has a reputation beyond reputesarv_shaktimaan has a reputation beyond reputesarv_shaktimaan has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Standard Chartered Bank: Question

You are supposed to update your phone numbers and such stuff. Inactive accounts are prone to forgery and scams. Meanwhile, if you have the online login you can transfer to a reliable relative/friend and have them issue a check.

ICICI is even worse.. So when my account relationship guy calls, I ask him to do things I can't figure out in their website and give him the satisfaction of transferring some of my money to India, he gives me preferential transfer conversion rate. Win-win for both.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 10th, 2015, 01:10 PM
sgars's Avatar
sgars sgars is offline
2
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mid West
Posts: 6,826
sgars has a reputation beyond reputesgars has a reputation beyond reputesgars has a reputation beyond reputesgars has a reputation beyond reputesgars has a reputation beyond reputesgars has a reputation beyond reputesgars has a reputation beyond reputesgars has a reputation beyond reputesgars has a reputation beyond reputesgars has a reputation beyond reputesgars has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Standard Chartered Bank: Question

Rather than the call way, try if you can email any 'Relationship Manager' worked for my HDFC Securities where i had never accessed the account.

I used to keep getting the emails from my 'Relationship manager' and finally shot one reply asking how to access my Securities account. It is another matter nothing is at stake. There is Zilch balance there.


So, you could pick up a few emails and try replying to them for help with on line access. And once you get an on line access, EFT some amounts to your folks and ask them to pay it.

You could also try calling an NRI service center for SCB in Canada and ask them that you want to convert your Indian account to an NRI account.

Again, all these are just shots. Not sure if it will work.
__________________
This is quite a game, politics. There are no permanent enemies, and no permanent friends,only permanent interests. - Some Firang
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 10th, 2015, 01:13 PM
swami's Avatar
swami swami is offline
Super eCharchan
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 12,816
swami has a reputation beyond reputeswami has a reputation beyond reputeswami has a reputation beyond reputeswami has a reputation beyond reputeswami has a reputation beyond reputeswami has a reputation beyond reputeswami has a reputation beyond reputeswami has a reputation beyond reputeswami has a reputation beyond reputeswami has a reputation beyond reputeswami has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Standard Chartered Bank: Question

As per RBI guidelines any account not used for a period of two years (?) is termed inactive and to reactivate it you have to go in person to the branch or any branch in India with your identity proof and fill a form to reactivate your account.
If your signature is same you can send someone along with verified/certified copies of your id and update details,most banks have forms which I think can be found online.
__________________
There are four kinds of people to avoid in the world: the assholes, the asswipes, the ass-kissers, and those that just will shit all over you.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 11th, 2015, 07:06 AM
Aashika Aashika is online now
Senior eCharchan
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,562
Aashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Standard Chartered Bank: Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by sarv_shaktimaan View Post
You are supposed to update your phone numbers and such stuff. Inactive accounts are prone to forgery and scams. Meanwhile, if you have the online login you can transfer to a reliable relative/friend and have them issue a check.
I know, i should have updated my contact details. My fault. Its just that, I nevere really even think about that account as i dont use it. Lesson learned.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgars View Post
Rather than the call way, try if you can email any 'Relationship Manager' worked for my HDFC Securities where i had never accessed the account.
Thanks for the suggestion, I did email one of the relationship managers and he responded saying he will look into this matter and will provide me with a course of action in 24 hours time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by swami View Post
As per RBI guidelines any account not used for a period of two years (?) is termed inactive and to reactivate it you have to go in person to the branch or any branch in India with your identity proof and fill a form to reactivate your account.
The account is not dormant. I have lots of equity in it and small money does gets deposited into that account periodically.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 11th, 2015, 07:38 AM
Napolean Napolean is offline
Senior eCharchan
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 8,562
Napolean has a reputation beyond reputeNapolean has a reputation beyond reputeNapolean has a reputation beyond reputeNapolean has a reputation beyond reputeNapolean has a reputation beyond reputeNapolean has a reputation beyond reputeNapolean has a reputation beyond reputeNapolean has a reputation beyond reputeNapolean has a reputation beyond reputeNapolean has a reputation beyond reputeNapolean has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Standard Chartered Bank: Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aashika View Post

The account is not dormant. I have lots of equity in it and small money does gets deposited into that account periodically.
From my experience , deposits don't help keep an account active. It can still be dormant.
Withdrawals help keep an account active for sure.
Unless your bank has told you otherwise.

Get their debit card and use it periodically.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 11th, 2015, 08:16 AM
PeaceSeeker PeaceSeeker is offline
In search of peace!
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Borderline
Posts: 6,175
PeaceSeeker has a reputation beyond reputePeaceSeeker has a reputation beyond reputePeaceSeeker has a reputation beyond reputePeaceSeeker has a reputation beyond reputePeaceSeeker has a reputation beyond reputePeaceSeeker has a reputation beyond reputePeaceSeeker has a reputation beyond reputePeaceSeeker has a reputation beyond reputePeaceSeeker has a reputation beyond reputePeaceSeeker has a reputation beyond reputePeaceSeeker has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Standard Chartered Bank: Question

Some banks let customers generate TPIN on phone itself. And I think that for the account to become 'dormant', it should be completely inactive (i.e. no credit, debit, equity-trading, whatever) for stipulated period.
__________________
Only peace remains at last!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old March 11th, 2015, 08:19 AM
Aashika Aashika is online now
Senior eCharchan
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,562
Aashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond reputeAashika has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Standard Chartered Bank: Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Napolean View Post
From my experience , deposits don't help keep an account active. It can still be dormant.
Withdrawals help keep an account active for sure.
Unless your bank has told you otherwise.

Get their debit card and use it periodically.
From what I know any transaction happening will prevent the account to go dormant. I know my account isnt dormant; I got that confirmed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeaceSeeker View Post
Some banks let customers generate TPIN on phone itself. And I think that for the account to become 'dormant', it should be completely inactive (i.e. no credit, debit, equity-trading, whatever) for stipulated period.
See thats the problem, I dont have TPIN. I dont remember with what number my account was registered under.

But the relationship manager said he will find a solution soon. I am going to wait for further direction.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old March 11th, 2015, 08:28 AM
Napolean Napolean is offline
Senior eCharchan
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 8,562
Napolean has a reputation beyond reputeNapolean has a reputation beyond reputeNapolean has a reputation beyond reputeNapolean has a reputation beyond reputeNapolean has a reputation beyond reputeNapolean has a reputation beyond reputeNapolean has a reputation beyond reputeNapolean has a reputation beyond reputeNapolean has a reputation beyond reputeNapolean has a reputation beyond reputeNapolean has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Standard Chartered Bank: Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aashika View Post
From what I know any transaction happening will prevent the account to go dormant. I know my account isnt dormant; I got that confirmed.
Then it is different from my Indian bank. It always goes dormant due to lack of withdrawals. I had started using their debit card to keep the account active but that expired and they sent new one to my Indian address. Again on verge of being dormant.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old March 11th, 2015, 08:35 AM
PeaceSeeker PeaceSeeker is offline
In search of peace!
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Borderline
Posts: 6,175
PeaceSeeker has a reputation beyond reputePeaceSeeker has a reputation beyond reputePeaceSeeker has a reputation beyond reputePeaceSeeker has a reputation beyond reputePeaceSeeker has a reputation beyond reputePeaceSeeker has a reputation beyond reputePeaceSeeker has a reputation beyond reputePeaceSeeker has a reputation beyond reputePeaceSeeker has a reputation beyond reputePeaceSeeker has a reputation beyond reputePeaceSeeker has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Standard Chartered Bank: Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aashika View Post
From what I know any transaction happening will prevent the account to go dormant. I know my account isnt dormant; I got that confirmed.

See thats the problem, I dont have TPIN. I dont remember with what number my account was registered under.

But the relationship manager said he will find a solution soon. I am going to wait for further direction.
I meant, they let you generate TPIN (for future purposes) when you do not have TPIN presently.
__________________
Only peace remains at last!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old March 11th, 2015, 08:54 AM
sgars's Avatar
sgars sgars is offline
2
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mid West
Posts: 6,826
sgars has a reputation beyond reputesgars has a reputation beyond reputesgars has a reputation beyond reputesgars has a reputation beyond reputesgars has a reputation beyond reputesgars has a reputation beyond reputesgars has a reputation beyond reputesgars has a reputation beyond reputesgars has a reputation beyond reputesgars has a reputation beyond reputesgars has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Standard Chartered Bank: Question

Now it might sound really lame and you may have already tried that. But could you try locating any old cheque book with remaining cheque leaves or any Debit card. And one more shot left is to convert it into an NRO account.
__________________
This is quite a game, politics. There are no permanent enemies, and no permanent friends,only permanent interests. - Some Firang
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old March 11th, 2015, 10:11 AM
sarv_shaktimaan's Avatar
sarv_shaktimaan sarv_shaktimaan is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: satva aasmaan
Posts: 14,043
sarv_shaktimaan has a reputation beyond reputesarv_shaktimaan has a reputation beyond reputesarv_shaktimaan has a reputation beyond reputesarv_shaktimaan has a reputation beyond reputesarv_shaktimaan has a reputation beyond reputesarv_shaktimaan has a reputation beyond reputesarv_shaktimaan has a reputation beyond reputesarv_shaktimaan has a reputation beyond reputesarv_shaktimaan has a reputation beyond reputesarv_shaktimaan has a reputation beyond reputesarv_shaktimaan has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Standard Chartered Bank: Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeaceSeeker View Post
I meant, they let you generate TPIN (for future purposes) when you do not have TPIN presently.
But they sent the TPIN or OTP (one time passwword) to the registered cell phone via SMS.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
And you thought only CWG infrastructure was of sub standard quality? echarcha Audio, Video & Photography 7 August 7th, 2011 08:14 AM
kindergarten and first standard syllabus krantikari Technology 9 September 26th, 2009 09:34 AM
A Double Cartoon Standard echarcha International Politics 0 March 30th, 2006 12:00 PM
Double Standard of USA wdsouza Indian Politics 2 August 27th, 2000 09:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Site Copyright © eCharcha.Com 2000-2012.